Sunday, May 22, 2022

Know Roberta Metsola newly elected European Parliament President

Must read

Shreya Christina
Shreya has been with for 3 years, writing copy for client websites, blog posts, EDMs and other mediums to engage readers and encourage action. By collaborating with clients, our SEO manager and the wider team, Shreya seeks to understand an audience before creating memorable, persuasive copy.

Roberta Metsola, who was the Maltese lawmaker is now the president of the European Parliament, she had succeeded David Sassoli who was died last year due to pneumonia caused by legionella at the age of 65 in Strasbourg.

Metsola has been elected as the president on Tuesday, 18 January 2022, she is a 43-year-old Maltese deputy and now she is the president of the 27 Nations’ Union.

About Roberta Metsola

The full name of Roberta Metsola is Roberta Metsola Tedesco Triccas, who was born on 18 January 1979 at saint Julian’s Malta. And she was elected as a Member of the European Parliament (MEP) in 2013 and you must know that she was the first female member of MEP. And after which she was again elected for the post in 2014 with very good votes.

Earlier she had given Permanent Representation of Malta in European Union from 2004 to 2012 as Malta’s Legal and Judicial Cooperation Attaché and Head of the Justice and Home Affairs Unit.

Early Life

Metsola is a lawyer by profession and she had specialization in European Laws and Politis from the University of Malta and College of Europe.

And she had started her career in politics as a legal advisor to British Labour politician Catherine Ashton.

From the student life she was actively participating in various political and social activities like she had formed Studenti Demokristjani Maltin (SDM) KNZ (The National Youth Council) and MŻPN (Moviment Żgħażagħ Partit Nazzjonalista) and then she had become the president of European Democrat Students (EDS).

Since her college days, she was an active member of the National Party in Europe (Partit Nazzjonalista). She had also run for elections two times in European Parliament Elections which she had lost.

Member of European Parliament

Finally, in 2013 she became the Member of the European Parliament with the vacant seat of Simon Busuttil. And since then she was working hard and now in 2022 she is the President of the European Parliament and elected by 458 votes.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article