Collaborative Playlists are a great way to create mixes with other users on Spotify, but until now you didn’t have much control over who could contribute to and see your work. Today, the streaming service is adding new levels of control to those playlists, giving users better control over who has access to them — including the ability to share collaborative mixes with large public groups or keep them private.
First, Spotify gives the playlist creator the option to invite or remove users to collaborate. You can also set collaborative playlists to private so that no one can listen, search, or watch those mixes except the people you’ve given them access to. You can add or remove who can work on playlists and who can follow them at any time, and Spotify says all new controls will roll out starting this week.
Expanded controls for collaborative playlists follow Spotify’s addition of a blocking feature in November. Before last fall, you could block artists from appearing in the app, but blocking another user required a request from customer service. Anyone who blocks you will no longer be able to access your Page, public playlists, or your listening activity. And of course, the move is reversible if you change your mind.
All products recommended by cafe-madrid have been selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories contain affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.