While much has been written and broadcast – rightly so – about how to deal with attacks and privacy violations online and via social media, there is now an increasing focus on helping people stay safe at home and in the world. Two features offered through Apple’s iPhones – one just introduced in iOS 16 – can help those who may need to separate from dangerous people or situations: Security Check and Emergency SOS.
One of the key new features in iOS 16 is Safety Check, which is specifically aimed at people who find themselves in a difficult or abusive situation at home.
It’s very common for friends and partners to share different apps and features, such as photos, calendars, and location, among others. Unfortunately, it is possible that these useful tools can be abused if the wrong person gains access or if a couple breaks up. Safety Check allows you to cut some or all of your connections so that you are no longer traceable. According to AppleThe data that is no longer shared includes information such as location data, your home data, photo albums and more.
Please note that on each page of the Security Check, a Quick Shutdown link in the top right corner will immediately take you back to your homepage (in case you suspect someone is watching you while you’re using the feature).
Emergency SOS allows you to make an emergency call by pressing and holding the side button and one of the volume buttons or by pressing the side button five times.
You can also select an emergency contact to be notified when Emergency SOS is activated.